Crystal Lake, California

Crystal Lake is a close knit community of 8000 people. Our friends, Dolores, Feliz and Juan Lucero live and work there. They live with their mother and work at the Crystal Lake General Hospital. The girls in the housekeeping department and Juan in maintenance. They witness the daily drama involving the staff and patients. Today the drama involves the girls

The thunderclouds had been gathering all day and now at three o’clock in the afternoon, mother nature was putting on a spectacular light show accompanied with amazing sound effects.

The girls were cleaning in room 103 when the room lit up with lightning and after a thunderous clap of thunder shook the walls,the lights flickered and promptly went out leaving the room in darkness.

“Don’t move” Dolores said, “The generator will start and bring up the lights.”

“Are you sure?” Feliz said. “That was a big noise and a big light.”

“See, I told you.” The lights came back on.

Feliz walked to the bed and peered down at the patient. “Don’t worry Mrs. Gray, I heard April showers bring May flowers.”

She stepped back from the bed.  “Call the nurse, there is something wrong with Mrs. Gray.”

Ramona edged up to the bed, stepped back quickly and gasped. Her hand flew to cover her mouth as she stood transfixed staring at the bed.

Feliz picked up the room phone.”Great! I always have to do things myself. No not you, operator.  There is something wrong with the patient in room 103. Call the nurse.” Feliz looked at the phone. “No I didn’t press the call light.” She pressed the call light. A harried voice came over the intercom.

“How can I help you, Mrs. Gray?”

“This is Feliz Lucero from housekeeping. Something is wrong with your patient, you better come see.”

Dolores was frozen in horror.  Feliz grabbed her by the arm and backed out the door

“Is she dead?” Dolores whispered.

“I am no doctor, but I have never seen anyone that color before.”

 

4 responses to “Crystal Lake, California

  1. Hi Margaret, it looks like you got back into your WordPress site. Yay! I sent you an envelope in the mail today. It contains two finished copies of my zine. You’ll be the first to receive a copy! I bet you thought that would never happen. LOL. (Now, I know what you mean by the editing and revising. Boy, is that the hard part!) Now on to the next one. Is this part of a story you are working on?

  2. Yes, It is where you can follow along as I write it. It will be in Story Just for fun. I went to your site and love what you did with it. I gave up on the margaret mary perry site and not am writing this at margaretperry839.com under story café. Let me know when you connect with it. I can’t wait to see the zine. I hope you autographed it.

  3. Your margaretmaryperry site is a wordpress.org site which is more complicated than this one which is a wordpress.com site (like mine). This site is margaretperry839.wordpress.com. You can do a lot with this one if you want. I don’t think you need the more complicated wordpress.org software since you aren’t selling anything and won’t need all the bells & whistles. I can help you out if you would like.

    Oh, and I didn’t think to sign the zines I sent you. 😦

    They are the first ones I’ve given to anyone though. 🙂

    • I am tickled you found me. I am going to need your help. I will call you after Easter with all my ?’s Not to worry, I’ll send you a bookplate so I will have an autograph for posterity. I am starting a shelf with all my writer friends autographed copies. I will put you right next to Craig Johnson. He has a new one coming out next month.